Beta Invite Blues

Dear Blizzard,

Last night you sent out another 250k beta invites to us Annual Pass (AP) subscribers. This brings the total to around 800k. Earlier this year it was revealed that a hair over a million people had signed up for the AP. Then once beta opened, you told us that the invites would go out based on when we signed up and for how long the account had been active.

That last bit was a little distressing because I’ve only had my own account for around 2 years. But, during those years I have spent at least a thousand dollars on various WoW related things including key chairs, T-shirts, plushies, 2 Blizz cons passes, an authenticator and damn near every pet and mount on the Blizzard pet store. I also purchased a second account to obtain the RAF rocket mount. My account has never lapsed nor have I had a black mark for in-game conduct or even a forum ban.

I am the perfect customer in terms of raw revenue for Blizzard. I am normally a happy customer. But today I am a little riled about the beta invite process.

I understand on an intellectual level that one million people at once would crash a small beta server. I also understand that the beta isn’t “complete” and there’s not much content past the Panda start zone and the two high level zones. I also understand there’s no NDA on this beta and I can watch Youtube videos and or read spoiler articles until my eyes bleed. Don’t get me wrong, I love watching Simon and Lewis and Jesse Cox and WowCrendor traverse the new world but it just isn’t the same as if I was there myself with my own friends.

My best friend got his beta invite on the first wave of invites after the small initial wave. I thought that made sense. He’s had his account since shortly after the game launched but didn’t sign up for the AP until a few days after it was announced. I thought maybe it had evened out but then I remembered that he has been in every beta since BC so odds are that he would have been in the MoP beta regardless.

So far, my bestie is the only person I know with a beta invite. None of guildies in Third Watch or Outnumbered have an invite. My circle of friends isn’t very big but you would have thought that out of eight hundred thousand people, that SOMEONE I know would have an invite.

Who are the people getting the invites? WoW Ladies LJ forum raised the question a few weeks ago to try to determine who had been invited. Only a handful of that very large group had invites. People are also posting on MMO Champ and WoW Insider that they have invites. But the amount of people saying they don’t have an invite is so much larger than people who do have invites. Could this just be because the people who don’t have it are more apt to speak out? People will always complain more than they will if something good happens to them.

Honestly, I am tired of refreshing MMO Champion every night, waiting on news of the next beta invite wave only to be disappointed. With each wave I text my bestie and say “I hope it’s me this time!”. Now that they have 80% done, it has to be me! Am I so far down the totem pole that I will be the last one invited?

I don’t think it’s the actual beta itself that drives me. I just want the invite. People like to feel part of something larger than they are, that someone or a group of someone’s care about them. If I had my invitation, I would feel like Blizzard cares about me. They care about me because I have given their game a chunk of my life and quite a bit of my disposable income and will do so for at least the next year.

Blizzard had made strides so that every class will bring something to the table. They want people to feel important; that because you play a Priest you can still go to the raid/5 man/ PvP because Paladins/Druids/Shaman aren’t the end all be all of healers and you can still make a difference. A Paladin is no more important than a Druid. Everyone is on the same level and we can do anything with what we already have. You want to raid with 3 healing Priests, 2 feral Druids and the rest Hunters? Go, down some bosses! It might not be ideal but it’s workable.

The whole beta invite process has left me feeling unimportant.

Signed,

The formally important Disco Priest

 

EDIT! Blizzard is not without a sense of humor. I got home tonight only to see that I had a beta invite… alas, not the right one…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwendel
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 02:24:59

    This probably won’t make you feel any better, but all of the AP subscribers I know have received their invites. This includes all of my guildies that I actually talk to in a guild that hits the membership cap every few days.

    I didn’t do the AP because I will probably be quitting for a month or two during the summer so I can manage 80 hour work weeks.

    Now would be a good time to check your “beta profile” settings on Battle.net. Then make sure to update your system specs there. Is your system still considered “supported” by WoW. I heard you mentioning crap FPS in LFR. They may be putting off your beta invite due to your “unideal” system specs.

    I’ve been waiting to see your blog about Disc Priests in Mists. Your reviews are just so complete and just what I want to see. I haven’t really seen any good Disc Priest reviews on WoW Insider.

    Reply

    • tobeume
      Apr 13, 2012 @ 03:12:10

      I hadn’t thought of the system specs being an issue. 😦 I was looking for a processor upgrade and apparently they don’t make my socket type anymore. LOL I decided I would save up for a whole new computer if that is case.

      But, it is nice to see that real people have some invites. :p

      Reply

Leave a Reply

