Where my Healers at?

Faced with the very real possibility of doing some RBGs in the future, I made my way into the random BG Queue for some Honor Points for Season 11 gear. I’ve been slacking in PvP a bit but now I need to get grinding again.

 I went 5 BGs without seeing another, single Alliance healer. I was seemingly the only Alliance healer of any flavor that was doing BGs that night. I would check Horde side and they had 2-3 healers most of the time. We all know that an extra healer can turn the tide of a match.

 Imagine my confusion in Eye of the Storm when I was the only healer Alliance side faced with 4 healers on Horde side. Where would I be most useful? Should I work the middle for the flag or try to protect the nodes? Each had its own difficulties. The flag is like bonus points if you already have nodes to cap. We can’t win a battle with just the flag. Also, the nodes are far apart. I could leave MT in good shape and head to DR but I may or may not make it in time to be of any use. Then MT would be in danger. I was in a no win situation and so was my team. To say we lost would be an understatement. We were thoroughly routed.

 The next BG was much the same. I can’t even remember what it was but apparently it didn’t last long enough to actually remember it.

 Then I got into a Strand of the Ancients. The lack of healers didn’t really make much of a difference here. Our team had competent people that would actually slow the demos and kill them. That was more important than my healing. We won.

 A few more passed too quick to mention when I finally found another healer on my side. It was Battle for Gilneas, one of my favorite BGs. I always go WW. With me was a DK, a Mage and a Resto Shaman. The rest of our team stayed at LH. We met the Horde at WW. When I say Horde, I mean their entire team. I’m really not sure of their strategy here. They took the Mines and went straight for WW. Between myself and that Resto Shaman, we held that node from 0 points to nearly 1400 points before we finally ran out of mana and CDs. By then, the Horde had no nodes at all because some LH peeps went to take it. I can only assume that we pissed them off enough that they just had to have WW. By the time we rez’d in the GY there was really nothing else to do. I ran over to mines as the time ticked down.

 I never would have held off the Horde onslaught on my own, regardless of how good I am. I really do think this illustrates the point quite well. I needed that other healer and they needed me. The Horde in that battle only had one healer, a hapless Holy Pally in mostly PvE gear. He fell to the DK on my side too many times to be of any use to his team.

 Everyone knows that healers can win matches. People generally like to win at things, so why the shortage of healers in BGs? Could it be the same reason of a PvE healer shortage in that few people want the responsibility or the grief that comes with it?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwendel
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 04:33:49

    Great post!

    I decided to run a BG today for fun. I don’t need any more Honor gear but I am trying to grind for some mounts and heirlooms. I am 4.9k Resilience Gnome Disc Priest. 😀

    So I got into Battle for Gilneas. I had a very great group. 4 healers. We opened up with 2 going to LH then 8 of us went to WW. The Horde was heavily hitting LH so we sent most of our team there and that left me, a Blood DK and a Hunter defending WW.

    We didn’t bother going after the mine. It was a slow and clean win. The nodes never changed hands. I love winning and playing with competant people who actually communicate with their group.

    If you ever want to RealID group queue for BGs with me (another I guess I’m competant healer), my BattleNet ID is the same email address as the one I use. I love Disco PvP.

    Reply

  2. Gwendel
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 04:35:20

    Great post!

    I decided to run a BG today for fun. I don’t need any more Honor gear but I am trying to grind for some mounts and heirlooms. I am 4.9k Resilience Gnome Disc Priest. 😀

    So I got into Battle for Gilneas. I had a very great group. 4 healers. We opened up with 2 going to LH then 8 of us went to WW. The Horde was heavily hitting LH so we sent most of our team there and that left me, a Blood DK and a Hunter defending WW.

    We didn’t bother going after the mine. It was a slow and clean win. The nodes never changed hands. I love winning and playing with competant people who actually communicate with their group.

    If you ever want to RealID group queue for BGs with me (another I guess I’m competant healer), my BattleNet ID is the same email address as the one I use. I love Disco PvP. 😀

    Reply

  3. tobeume
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 04:58:00

    4.9k Resil?! Oh my goodness that is a lot! I don’t really feel the need to stack resil to that level. I have around 4k and its just fine for me. If I feel I’m taking too much damage I’ll change out some gems but I don’t really worry about it. I have a lot more mitigation than other cloth classes and I like balancing the other stats out.

    And yes, it is refreshing to find a random group that knows what they are doing and don’t spend the entire time spamming damage meters or cussing each other out.

    Reply

    • Gwendel
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 16:15:59

      I do arenas (2v2s) with either an Arms Warrior or and Unholy Death Knight both are pretty heavily geared. I find that most of the time when I get against a double burst team I tend to die very quickly. If they focus my teammate, I normally have no problem healing him through it unless the other team is very good with CC. If they focus me and get 2 or more stuns off, I still die pretty fast.

      Also, I misestimated my resilience (it is 4.6k). None of my gems have resilience and the only resilience enchant I have is on my chest. I may upgrade my Ruthless PvP trinket that has resilience to a Cataclysmic one that has a different stat.

      Reply

  4. Ellori
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 05:04:03

    I’ve stopped healing BGs for a while until the bad taste leaves my mouth. Just too many times (read: 98% of the time), I run up to save an ally fighting some horde, and the minute they get healed and see I’m there to provide a distraction for the horde, they run off, leaving me to die to the horde I saved them from.

    Reply

    • tobeume
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 05:18:47

      Unfortunately that happens a lot. Then they bitch when you don’t heal them through the next burst attack. I hate it when people leave me alone at a node on defense. I can only keep myself alive for so long before I’m going to need some help. :3

      Reply

Leave a Reply

