When is it OK to Leave a Fail Group?

My Hunter is just barely geared enough to get into the new Troll instances. I had to settle for a Rogue trinket to replace my 333 to push me over the limit. It has a nice Agility proc so it’s not completely wrong for me. The new instances have a plethora of Hunter upgrades so off I went into the wild on my own.

The first one I got was ZG. I’m just going to come right and say that I fucking hate ZG with a passion. Words cannot express how much I hate it. I don’t mind difficulty but people can be real idiots about not learning the boss abilities and/or not standing in the bad shit. I don’t so much as hate the dungeon as I hate the learning curve other people are experiencing with it. I’m convinced ZG is this expansion’s Halls of Reflection, thus far anyway.

I zone into a group that I can’t even remember the composition of except we have a Holy Priest for a healer. I’ve seen quite a few Holy Priests now in ZG and I’m convinced they can’t keep up with the damage. Which is odd seeing as Holy Priests have more raw output than their Disc counterparts. Druids and Shaman don’t have any problems nor do Holy Paladins. It’s to the point that when I see Chakra state I cringe and hope for the best.

That first time in ZG I’m sure we went through at least 5 healers of various flavors. The tank was perfectly fine and the DPS were all pulling over 12K but the healer could not keep up. Most of the time the healer left in the middle of the fight – dooming what small chance at survival we had. I hadn’t remembered it was all that bad.

So when is a good time to leave a seemingly fail group?

I went back to ZG on my Priest in a PUG to remember how difficult it was. I knew it was pretty hard but it’s definitely doable. Everyone might not be at full health all the time but that’s fine.

I got the lousiest excuse for DPS I have seen in a very long time. The tank was pretty awesome and very patient with telling them the boss fights and how to use the cauldrons. He had the patience of a saint and I commend him for that. The instances are still really new so people who haven’t run it are the norm. That doesn’t bother me – everyone needs a chance to learn.

ZG is all about not standing in shit and knowing if/when to burn down adds. Every boss in there with the exception of Jin’Do follows these pretty basic rules. Venoxis – don’t stand in bad green shit and run out if you get the green light between you and someone else. Mandokir – kill the raptor when its up and don’t stand in fire/earth-y AOE. Kilnara – burn panthers before 50% and then stay out of flying debris. Zanzil – use different colored cauldrons to kill adds, stay out of shadow fire on the ground, use the green cauldron for poison AOE.

Nice and simple boss strats, right? You would think people would understand the really important part of not standing in bad shit.

So what did the 3 special snowflakes I was stuck with do? They stood in everything that they could possibly find that would be classified as BAD SHIT. Not to mention, the highest DPS (under the tank who was number 1 at 9k) was only pulling about 6k. To put this in closer perspective, I was doing 3k by Smiting my little fuzzy heart out. Normally, this wouldn’t be a big issue but when a boss has anywhere from 4 to 7 MILLION hit points, it gets a bit long. I shouldn’t have the time to use my Shadowfiend twice in the same fight. Hell, I don’t even have the time on 10M raid bosses to use it twice.

When had I had enough? I was the only one with Archeology high enough to get the bonus boss so I left right after that. He doesn’t drop anything I need and I figured the Mage could use that off hand. I stayed for the first 3 bosses and left. I told them exactly why I left. They didn’t have the DPS or the situational awareness to down Jin’Do. These are things they can work on. I didn’t cuss them out or make a scene. I just told them they needed to improve before attempting the last boss.

I waited until we were not in combat and I explained why I was leaving. I’m not going to blow through several hundred gold in repair with an inferior group nor will I waste the precious few hours I have before work. I think this is the best way to leave a PUG. They are doing something wrong and it is more helpful to tell them than to rage quit.

Have I rage quit groups before? Hell yes I have. And I felt bad about it later. I missed an opportunity to help improve someone that will just keep doing whatever it was they did to others.

So, feel free to leave a fail group but go about it in the right way. If you know the group isn’t going to get you what you need, just leave. But give a reason for going. A reason isn’t “yu suk lol L2EJ”. A reason would be “please talk to some people who know your class and can give you some pointers to improve your DPS” or even “please check out some blogs or even the official forums for some help if you are confused”.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Zinn
    May 08, 2011 @ 10:39:53

    I agree that holy priests seem to be the ones having most troubles in instances, we’re just not designed to point heal, at all. Heal doesn’t really cut it, and that means I have to resort to Greater Heal. That would be ok, if I had hastening talents/skills like paladins, shamans and disc priests do, but I don’t! Druids have Nature’s Grace, but most importantly, they have loads of point-healing hots – we have one. A weak one. Also, they have Nature’s Swiftness and Swiftmend for when shit hits the fan. I think that is the biggest problem about holy priests at the moment, we have the slowest spells, and no real hots/instants to back it up, and that’s just not very good for point healing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

