Patch 4.0.6 Priest Changes

I found the patch notes at:

http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/01/06/official-ptr-patch-4-0-6-patch-notes/

I left out the Holy changes because I don’t play Holy.

Per WoW Insider

Priests

  • The duration of Levitate has been increased to 10 minutes, up from 2.
  • The mana cost of Power Word: Fortitude has been reduced by approximately 68%, making it roughly equal to the cost of Mark of the Wild.
  • The mana cost of Power Word: Shield has been increased by approximately 31%, but its effect has been increased by 208%.
  • The mana cost of Renew has been reduced by 24%.
  • The mana cost of Shadow Protection has been reduced by approximately 65%, making it roughly equal to the cost of Mark of the Wild.

Talent specializations

Discipline

  • Focused Will now procs when the priest is critically hit, in addition to its current effect.
  • Improved Power Word: Shield now also increases the amount absorbed by an additional 15/30% when cast on oneself.
  • Pain Suppression is no longer dispellable.

Glyphs

  • Glyph of Mind Flay no longer requires Shadow Word: Pain to be on the target.
  • Glyph of Pain Suppression has been renamed Glyph of Desperation and now allows Guardian Spirit to be cast while stunned, in addition to Pain Suppression.
  • Glyph of Psychic Horror now reduces the cooldown of Psychic Horror by 30 seconds, down from 60.
  • Glyph of Spirit of Redemption has been converted into Glyph of Prayer of Mending, which increases the healing done by the first charge of Prayer of Mending by 60%.

Hot Fix from 05 Jan 11:

  • The heal from Atonement is now capped at 30% of the priest’s health before any modifiers such as healing percentage bonus effects/talents.

I’m not sure why Levitate has been increased in duration. Could this be a sign that a future raid encounter needs a Priest to provide Levitate on the raid? I use Levitate for two things: fishing and gliding down the hill from Lumber Mill. I guess it’s a buff to quality of life.

Reducing the cost of the party buffs have been a long time coming. Fort wasn’t so bad but Shadow Protection was way too expensive. I would buff everyone and then immediatly drop to drink before the pull. There was no way to rebuff in the middle of a fight if someone was battle rez’d because the cost was prohibitive. Paladins and Druids don’t have this problem and so shouldn’t we.

Reducing the cost of Renew? Hell and yes! They just chopped off over a 1K mana to the cost of it. Just another reason to love on the Renew. During the raid last week I was tossing Renews on raid members to help out Treston on raid heals but I was blowing through my mana at the same time. This is a very welcome change.

The Disc changes are mostly PvP related but I do like the bubble being buffed when cast on yourself. I am notoriously bad at being slow in moving out of stuff so it gives me a little wiggle room.

The bubble has also been nerfed/buffed at the same exact time. The cost has increased by quite a lot but it’s over twice as effective. My bubbles are normally about 11K so with this increase I’ll be seeing over 22K bubbles. I really think this will shift the stat weights in favor of Mastery over Crit since Mastery makes bubbles bigger. Before it was kind of a meh stat but now it looks a lot better since it won’t just be a drop in the bucket of a tank’s moster health pool. I think it will make Inner Will damn near mandatory for Disc Priests to run with, as well. It remains to be seen if we will be making mana back with Rapture or just breaking even with this change.

The glyph changes are really intersting. With the Glyph of Desperation they have made our Holy breatheran more viable in PvP. Glyph of Pain Suppression is manadatory in any Disc PvP spec and it is nice to see Holy getting some PvP love. Perhaps we will see more Holy Priests in BGs – which would be quite welcome for the shear raw numbers they can produce. Honestly, it would be nice to see any kind of healers in BGs. I get lonely sometimes.

The new Glyph of Prayer of Mending is something I will be trying as soon as the patch hits. I am a huge supporter of PoM and giving a tank 60% more healing could never be a bad thing. PoM is instant and another good reason to have Inner Will up.

The Hot Fix from a few days ago is also interesting. Thirty percent of my health pool would be a hair over 34K. I have yet to see a Smite hit for over 18K on a crit. I’m not sure why they decided to cap that because I don’t really think it needed a cap because the numbers are low to begin with. Will we be seeing 34K Smite crits toward the end of the expansion? Time will tell but I kind of doubt it.

All in all, the changes are positive and I can’t wait to test out the new glyphs.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lunassa
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 16:57:01

    You missed a huge change!

    •Grace can now be active on multiple targets at a time.

    This is going to be huge in two important ways.

    1. Healing other targets besides the tank doesn’t lose Grace
    2. Healing two tanks means keeping 3 stacks of Grace on each.

    Reply

    • tobeume
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 23:02:05

      OMG! I knew I missed something! I kept looking and looking but I couldn’t find out what I missed. It’s been nagging at me for days now. The change to Grace is huge! Talk about a massive buff to our shear numbers.

      If I Heal a raid member to help out Treston they are going to get a Grace buff that will increase all healing done to them so I can roll Renew on them for 8% or more, dependant on number of stacks. And we can keep up Grace on both tanks – not just one or the other.

      I wonder if they will change Grace to apply to Prayer of Healing in the future. That might be a touch too OP, though. They really need to add Binding Heal to the list that can proc Grace. I only used to use in Arena but it’s pretty good for raids with all the AOE damage.

      Reply

      • Lunassa
        Jan 13, 2011 @ 16:26:52

        Sadly, it looks like most of those proposed changes were dropped and they reverted PW:Shield back to what it was.

  2. tobeume
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:45:35

    It does look like we were too soon in thinking that PW:S would actually get fixed into something usable. The way it is now it’s very nearly a waste of resources, even for a Disc Priest. Too bad they reversed a very good decission. Its still to early to really tell if it will remain permanent so I’m waiting to do another post until it really settles into something more solid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

