Preparation

My baby Hunter hit Level 40 this morning and I have been working towards her level 80 gear. My Druid is a leather worker so I can make some really nice stuff for her – including the 264 boots and legs. I have spent some time farming leather and arctic furs in Zul’Drak here and there. I have been running my daily heroics to get Frost Badges for the P Saronites for the crafted stuff. (I have enough for 7 so far – should have enough to make the gear by the time I hit 80.)

I have done this with both of my two level 80 alts. It never occurred for me to do it any differently. I knew I was going to hit 80 with them from around level 30 or so. I had 50-odd levels to get my ducks in a row. I did my research and found out what crafted stuff I could get. I was lucky to be part of a guild with crafters that had most of what I needed so I farmed the mats or bought them on the AH for cheap. My Druid dinged 80 with almost 2 full gear sets – feral and resto. I just needed to do heroics for off pieces and upgrades. Weapons were an issue, as well. I think I used that level 77 polearm for a couple of weeks before the feral staff dropped in heroic VH.

My Pally was pretty easy to gear since I was only ever Holy with her. Kells made me all the plate things I needed and I got the mail boot pattern for my Druid to make for her

I was able to jump right into the ICC 5 mans with both of them – minutes after I hit level 80. All the gear I had amassed over the weeks of leveling had been gemmed and enchanted – ready to be put on. When I knew 80 was close, I even put the gear in my bags. Amazingly enough, I dinged 80 on both my Druid and Pally in Culling of Stratholme. I asked my party to give me a second and I put on all my level 80 gear right then and there. Then we finished the instance…

It is just natural for me to do this preparation because it’s what I do all the time. My bags are full with trinkets, different buff foods or flasks for every situation. Don’t have enough haste? I have stuff for that. We’re on Dreamwalker – I have spellpower food and flasks. I need some extra mp5 – put on Tears of the Vanquished and drink a Pure Mojo flask.

I can’t imagine someone else not doing at least some little bit of preparation. Even my Priest had stuff prepared for 80 and she was my first character ever.

Which brings me to today…  

The random dungeon finder is everything that isn’t random. I’ve been stuck with DTK for the last week or so. I zoned in and said hello to everyone. They were a nice chatty bunch – a change from most pugs. The DK tank had around 30k health with my King’s buff – no big deal. She wasn’t getting crit on so all the better. I notice the casters off the bunch are taking a lot of damage. Both Mage and ‘Lock are standing in the black pancakes of doom. I asked them to exit them – which they did. They even made some pancake jokes. That’s why I say something so absurd about those void zones because it gets people’s attention and they move most of the time. The tank didn’t turn the aboms away (no one ever does) before the first boss.

We get to the first boss. And it takes FOREVER to kill him. I mean a LONG time. I look at my fellow puggies. The tank is around 4200 GS and the DPS were all kicking at around 2300 GS. The Mage is rocking the T9 shoulders over the BOA chest and staff. The tiny ‘Lock was all in quest rewards and stuff I had honestly never seen before. Nothing gemmed or enchanted. The kitty Druid was the same way but his stuff was gemmed and enchanted. He managed his aggro really well where the casters were constantly pulling off the baby DK tank.

We troop on to the second boss. Everyone but the Mage is downstairs fighting the adds. I run up the stairs to help the Mage out because she’s getting eaten alive by those sissy mobs. She’s only got like 13K health and not doing much damage so I start DPSing the mobs. I look over and she’s almost dead after 2 or 3 hits. She didn’t Iceblock or Blink away from them. She must have trusted me to heal her up rather than giving me an inch to get it done.

I’m in the middle of a Holy Light cast when she dies. I was still mostly raid buffed with my haste food and my haste elixir – sitting at almost 900 haste. I felt like it was the first day hitting level 15 and not having any haste at all – trying to heal a chain pulling tank with no mana. They were taking SO much damage that I could barely keep up. The heals that seemed so fast before seemed to take ages to reach their target. Even instant Holy Shocks and Flash of Lights took ages to land. Time slowed down and my hand clinched my mouse so hard to actually hurt my fingers. I don’t think I blinked the entire time I was in there.

The tank was doing so well and everyone was so earnest that I couldn’t just leave them, regardless of my aching hand and shot vision. I rez’d the Mage after a 4 minute boss fight and apologized for her death. The ‘Lock sent me a tell saying that “she should have been on the bottom” and it was her fault she died. He said everyone should be on the ground floor because that’s the way he did it “once before”. I explained to him there should be 2 people up top and 2 people on the floor for adds. He didn’t say anything after that.

We went to King Dred with surprisingly no problems. The little hallway up to the last boss was pretty nice. I was still healing my tail off. Maybe I had gotten used to them by then – I don’t know. They were super nice people and I was so happy when the Druid got the arpen trinket that dropped. I really got behind those people and rooted for them.

But… damn people… Could you not have prepared to hit 80? Especially you, Ms. Mage. You are in BOA’s so this isn’t your first character. I can understand not getting a Merlin’s Robe or the 226 crafted chest because of gold restrictions. There is a really decent blue cloth chest that’s BOE that you can get on the AH pretty cheap – at least get one of those!

I know Heroics are to gear people. But there is a difference between people who prepare for stuff and people who just waltz into them, waiting to be carried. I am so torn because they were really nice people and I have no idea what they are going through in real life – maybe they didn’t have much time to play. On the other hand, it’s not like they didn’t have time to get prepared for level 80 because they spent how much time to get to 80 in the first place? You can’t tell me that they were taken by surprise when level 80 hit and thought… oh, wow I didn’t see that coming…

Leave a Reply

