Cata Changes

The Priest Preview was released and the changes are going to be epic. I’m just going to look at the Healing Priest stuff because I’m not shadow deeps anymore. Overall, I like it – as long as they don’t mess with my Penance.

New Priest Spells

Heal (available at level 16): While priests already have a spell called Heal, the existing version becomes obsolete at higher levels, which is something we intend to change in Cataclysm. Introduced at a low level, the “new” Heal spell will functionally work much like a down-ranked Greater Heal did in the past, adding more granularity to your direct-healing arsenal. If you need to heal someone a moderate amount and efficiency is an issue (making Flash Heal the incorrect spell for the job), then Heal is what you want to use. Heal is intended to be the priest’s go-to direct-healing spell unless they need something bigger (Greater Heal) or faster (Flash Heal). We will be following a similar philosophy with all the healing classes.

I don’t like this. I have Penance and Flash Heal. They would have to make the cast time and mana cost very efficient for me to cast “Heal” instead of Flash Heal. Bigger heal crits = bigger Divine Aegis absorbs. I always thought Penance was the median heal between Flash Heal and Greater Heal. This better not make my Penance become obsolete.

Inner Will (level 83): Increases movement speed by 12% and reduces the mana cost of instant-cast spells by 10%. This buff will be exclusive with Inner Fire, meaning you can’t have both up at once. Inner Fire provides a spell power and Armor buff; Inner Will should be useful on a more situational basis.

I like this one. I wonder if it will stack with Tuskarr’s Vitality and the speed increase meta gem. It is about time we get a speed boost to keep up with Paladin tanks who have the 15% speed increase talents. The 10% decrease in mana cost is nice for bubble spammers if it doesn’t interfere with the mana return of Rapture. My bubble costs 666 mana right now, 10% off would be around 600 per bubble. With my INT the way it is right now, fully raid buffed, I get around 913 mana back when the bubble breaks – I make 247 mana. If I were to put on Inner Will, I would make 313 mana. I gotta say, I’m liking it. Can haz right now?

Leap of Faith (level 85): Pull a party or raid member to your location. Leap of Faith (or “Life Grip”) is intended to give priests a tool to help rescue fellow players who have pulled aggro, are being focused on in PvP, or just can’t seem to get out of the fire in time. Instant. 30-yard range. 45-second cooldown.

I cannot wait for this! I cannot wait to have a battle of wills with a DK in a BG. I can just imagine a DK Deathgripping Del and I pull him right back! That’s my mage, bitches! No… but really, what an awesome idea for a spell. I can’t wait until I’m an OP level 85 with nothing else to do in a heroic than throw around random party members.

* All HoTs and DoTs will benefit from Haste and Crit innately. Hasted HoTs and DoTs will not have a shorter duration, just a shorter period in between ticks (meaning they will gain extra ticks to fill in the duration as appropriate).

Renew crits! ZOMG! Stacking Divine Aegis bubbles on Renew crits?! This is too good to be true. I will believe it when I see it.

* While we want to keep the priest’s role as a well-rounded healer, we also want to make sure the class is a viable tank healer, which is something priests moved away from a little in Wrath of the Lich King. Greater Heal will probably be the tank-healing spell of choice, though we’ve also discussed giving Discipline a second shield so that they have a small shield to cast on lots of different targets, and a big, more expensive shield to cast on a tank or anyone else taking a ton of damage.

I r not tank haelz? Since when am I a sub-par tank healer? I am OP in most 10 mans and just fine in 25 mans. I am confused by this. Again, it sees like Penance is getting the shaft. Screw you, Greater Heal. And I could have sworn that Divine Aegis was my “small” shield – I just don’t have control over it’s proc.

* Divine Spirit and Prayer of Spirit will be removed from the game. As Spirit will be the primary mana-regeneration stat, we don’t want it to vary as much between solo, small group, and raid play. Blessing of Kings and Mark of the Wild will not boost Spirit either.

Yay! One less Devout Candle to burn! That shit gets expensive on progression runs. I don’t care about spirit either way right now, so a welcome change. It will be odd that first day or so with out it.

* We want to improve Discipline’s single-target healing capacity. One key is to make sure shielding isn’t always a more attractive option than healing.

Do these people even play a Disc priest? Seriously? Am I going to be a clothie Pallie? Do they not realize that the bubbles actually wear off and the tank needs healing once they are gone? If they didn’t want the bubble to be attractive to us, then take away the healing glyph for it…. no wait, just take it away completely. The bubble is a cushion so that the healing that comes after it is more than a drop in the leaky bucket that is the tank’s health bar. I really hope this change is aimed at 5 man dungeons. Most of what I  do right now is just bubble people and read a blog at the same time.

* Discipline will finally be getting Power Word: Barrier as a talented ability. Think of it like a group Power Word: Shield.

Fuck yes! Sign me up! Sadly, they have waved this carrot on a stick in our faces before. I will believe it when I am actually in a group and casting it on us.

Leave a Reply

